Ontario JHSC Certification Training (Part Two)

Course Duration
Course Description
Part Two JHSC training focuses on:
  • The concepts of hazard recognition, assessment, and control, and evaluation of hazard controls
  • Participants will learn how to apply these concepts to a minimum of six (6) hazards relevant to their own workplaces. The learner will practice drafting action plans and recommendations for the employer through an activity.
The employer should conduct a workplace hazard assessment to select the most relevant Part Two training for members of the JHSC to become certified.

Employers should conduct this assessment in consultation with their JHSC.

For assistance in selecting relevant hazards for Part Two training, please refer to the JHSC Certification Employer Guidance material published by the MOL.
A Part Two program must include at least six hazards relevant to the committee member’s workplace.

Upon completion of Part Two training, learners will be able to:

  1. Describe key concepts of Part One training including the process of how to recognize, assess and control hazards, and evaluate the hazard controls.
  2. Apply recognition, assessment, control, and evaluation principles to each of the workplace hazard(s) selected for the training program.
  3. Create a draft action plan and recommendations for the employer on at least one hazard in Learning Outcome #2.
Who should attend?
A joint health and safety committee (JHSC) is composed of worker and employer representatives. Together, they are mutually committed to improving health and safety conditions in the workplace. Committees identify potential health and safety issues and bring them to the employer's attention and must be kept informed of health and safety developments in the workplace by the employer. As well, a designated worker member of the committee inspects the workplace at least once a month.

Joint health and safety committees assist in providing greater protection against workplace injury and illness and deaths. Joint health and safety committees involve representatives from workers and employers. This co-operative involvement ensures that everything possible is done to identify and eliminate or mitigate workplace health and safety hazards.

Unless otherwise prescribed in regulation, the Act requires that at least two members of the committee (one representing workers and one representing persons who exercise managerial functions) be certified. Until April 1, 2012 the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board was authorized to certify committee members under the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, 1997 (WSIA). As of April 1, 2012, the Ministry of Labour’s Chief Prevention Officer has been authorized to certify members under the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA) [clause 7.6(1)(b)]. Any person who was certified under the WSIA before April 1, 2012 is deemed to be certified under the OHSA.

In order to be certified, a person must complete the Parts 1 and 2 of mandatory training: Basic Certification and Workplace-Specific Hazard Training. Refresher training is required every three (3) years to maintain certification. A certified member may request a one-time exemption from Refresher Training if he or she is an active member (i.e., engaged as a member of the workplace JHSC within the past twelve months).
Certification Details
The approved training provider is responsible for developing and conducting the final learner evaluation.

An activity, such as a case study (to evaluate the learner’s ability to complete a hazard management tool, draft a recommendation for the employer and create an action plan) must be included.
Open to Public This course is available for public registration as well as private on-site requests
Safety for Leadership Course Type:
Location of Course:
London, Ontario
Open to Public This course is available for public registration as well as private on-site requests
Safety for Leadership Course Type:
Location of Course:
Hamilton, Ontario